Special Training Event 8 September 2019

Image result for Harford County deputy shield God forbid it should happen here!

But we should be as prepared as we can be if it ever does.

Emmanuel Church announces that it will hold a special “Active Shooter” training in the church on Sunday, 8 September 2019 at 10:00 AM. The purpose of this training is to instruct parishioners on what to do if an active shooter enters the church while we are at worship. Harford County Sheriff Deputy Brad Crossley will lead the session for us, covering in particular the things we can do to respond safely and appropriately to such an invasion. The session will last about an hour and a half, with time available to have your particular questions asked. Though the training is specifically geared to Emmanuel Church — its building and setting — much of what will be described will apply to other venues or situations you might find yourself in. To encourage as many parishioners as possible to attend, there will be no 8:00 AM or 12 Noon service that Sunday.

This training will broach sensitive and disturbing material, and so our children (through middle school) will go to their Sunday School classes for their own activities.

Our Sunday School program has already implemented certain procedures to insure that their class time is as secure and safe as possible. This includes a system of walkie talkies to enable immediate communication between buildings.

As a community of faith, we know that we are always in God’s hands and under the care of God’s providence. That does not exempt us, however, from taking advantage of the gifts, skills, and experience around us to take steps to protect ourselves and our loved ones.

Please do everything you can to be with us on 8 September 2019. And please pray everyday that we may see an end to senseless violence in this country.


The Rev’d Canon Dr. Mark Gatza


Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on Special Training Event 8 September 2019